"IT COMES", Part 4

In our previous post we mentioned how the French Revolution brought to life the Beast “THAT WAS
and what some of the specific causes and results were. We likewise mentioned how the revolution was
brought to an end when the military under Napoleon Bonaparte came to power, and as such the
Beast “
THAT WAS” went into the abyss (the state of powerlessness and nonexistence, i.e. The “IS
” condition).

Of course this is how the world viewed things, that is as taken from the worldly perspective, but as
Christians we are more interested in how these events unfolded according to the Divine Testimony.

Now in order for us to properly understand these matters it will first prove necessary to explain a little
bit about how to interpret the Book of Revelation. (
We will not here go into every detail but simply
elaborate on those methods pertinent to our study here
.) The primary reason why many
misunderstand and misinterpret this book is a failure to understand how it works, specifically how it is
arranged. Remember that this book along with most of the other prophetic writings found in the
Scriptures were purposely designed so as to hide their true meaning until the “
due time” for their
revealing, and then only to a certain class of watchful ones, awake at the proper time and in
possession of spiritual insight, thus in essence it remained a “
sealed book”, until then. But now that
we have reached “
the time of the end” as mentioned by the prophet Daniel (Dan 12:8), the seal is
broken, and to such the books (
the Holy Scriptures) are now opened.

The book of Revelation is a prophecy, and not a literal epistle. It abounds in symbols or signs,
and these are the rule, and the literal—when unavoidable–is the exception. The signs and symbols are
evidently designed to barricade its mysteries from all except a certain class, the saints, and from them
also until the time was due for the secrets to be revealed.”

The greatest source of error in understanding the symbols of Revelation is a too literal
interpretation. It is read as though it were a statement of facts instead of a statement of

The book of Revelation is a book of pen-pictures of events and of periods of earth’s
—from Christ’s first advent onward–usually in groups of seven succeeding stages (i.e. seven
churches, seven seals, seven trumpets, seven bowls and etc.
); several of these groups running more
or less synchronous, or parallel in time, with each other. Seven throughout the scriptures denotes
completion” or “perfection” thus the fulfillment of each of these “pen-pictures” is shown in the
seventh stage of each of these events.

“Notice that the Churches, Seals, and Trumpets (
each of which takes us through the Gospel Age in
seven successive steps
) have their own introductions. This is likewise true of the Seven Last
of Chapter 16. (Chapter 15 serves as their introduction.) No other part of Revelation has
this kind of introduction (
save the introduction to the whole book itself in 1:1-8). Only the four
series of seven parts each have this peculiarity (
Churches, Seals, Trumpets, and Plagues). Why is this?

It is likely that the Lord wanted to
unify each series so that we understand that the parts of these
series do not stand alone. In each case, one part affects the next, and it is the
totality of each series
which gives us the story of the Gospel Age or the Gospel Age Harvest. The introductions give us vital
lessons applicable to all parts of the series.

Also when we study the three introductions to the Churches, Seals, Trumpets, we find the evidence
we need to show us that one series does not follow another series historically.
Rather the first
church, first seal, and first trumpet are all simultaneous (
and so on through the series). This
might well escape our attention without a study of the introductions. It is important for each individual
to be convinced in his own mind regarding the histories and lessons of these Churches, Seals, and

This would be a good time to mark your Bibles so that each of the Churches, Seals, and
Trumpets are clearly visible to your eye as you look through Revelation
. Personally I have far
too many notes scribbled all over my pages to be able to see some little number written by each of
these items so instead what I did was to purchase some of those little stick-on dots which were just
big enough to write the numbers on and then to make them more visible I color coded them. For
example the first Church, Seal, and Trumpet are all orange with the next series green and so on and
so forth. Now I am able to easy reference each series when studying them

Since these three views of the Gospel Age (
Churches, Seals, and Trumpets) all seem similar in that
each view is divided into seven parts it is only natural to ask, what is the objective of each series?
Why go through the seven periods of the age three times?

1) Churches: The messages to the “angels” of the seven churches are for the purpose of explaining
prevailing weaknesses and conditions during each stage of the church. Thus the brethren of each
period can be instructed as to what is to be overcome and what is necessary in order to accomplish
the overcoming.

2) Seals: The descriptions found as each seal is opened are for the purpose of showing how the
historical events of the period will have
affected the church.

3) Trumpets: The object of the trumpet sequence is just the opposite of the seals. The trumpet
show how the seasonal religious truths (present truth, at that time of course) are to
affect surrounding society.”

“However in the case of the
plagues, they are not contemporary, that is, unlike the churches, seals
and trumpets which date from the same time period, the plagues follow after, that is,
they are the
just consequences of previous lessons unlearned
, thus because the world didn’t listen to the
trumpets, felled to heed the lessons,
now the truths of the trumpets must be forced upon them
by the plagues

In other words although the first church, first seal, and first trumpet are all
simultaneous one with
the first plague does not necessarily follow this sequence. Let me attempt to explain. Each
stage of the church received a specific
message of praise and or condemnation from the Lord and
likewise what was required of them at that time, the
seal connected to that stage of the church
described how the church at that period was affected by historic events then transpiring, the
showed how the truths then being espoused by the church at that time affected society. Did they
respond favorably or unfavorably, did they listen? Obviously not, and so the Lord sends the plagues
upon them to force them to heed.

However these plagues do not follow the same pattern as the before mentioned items, one in
connection with the other instead they are
ALL held in check until all seven stages of the church have
received their specific message, seal and trumpet. Each stage of the church received these messages,
seals and trumpets separately; nevertheless they are applicable to the church as a whole.
Unfortunately it is the last stage of the church, the Laodicean stage that will bear the brunt of the
plagues as they are poured out one following another.

Now how does this all relate to our study of the Beast “
THAT WAS”, how do the scriptures interpret
its rise its disappearance, and its subsequent reappearance or accent out of the bottomless pit?

We’ll take a look at this in our next post.

                                       PREVIOUS PAGE  INDEX  NEXT PAGE